Havering AC Update

English Schools Cross Country Cup – Regional Final Benfleet 9th November

Havering AC athletes performed well for their school teams in the English Schools Cross Country Cup Regional Final at Benfleet on Saturday.

Schools Cup U15Gs

Club athletes occupied six of the top ten places in the Intermediate Girls (Years 9 & 10) race. Chloe Rand (Coopers) was a brilliant second, with Tilly Canty (Sacred Heart) and Natalie Sewell (Coppers) fourth and fifth. Stephanie Okoro (Coppers), Nicole Langan (Sacred Heart) and Ruby Higgins (Coopers) placed eighth, ninth and tenth with Freya Long (Coopers) in 18th.  Coopers were comfortable winners to qualify for the National Final in Derbyshire on 7th December, but Sacred Heart missed out in fourth.

Winners of U13 to U17 club awards (Tony Benton)

In the Junior Girls race (Years 7 & 8) Charlotte Evans (Coopers) took the honours with twin Hannah (also Coopers) in fifth and Abigail Swan (St Martins) sixth and Ruby Tillson completing the Coopers scorers in 11th for another win, with Rosie Warner 13th for Coopers as St Martins also made the final in third.

Four club athletes made the Top 10 in the Junior Boys race as Ryan Carroll (Shenfield) was third ahead of Oliver Taylor-Bush (Coopers) in fourth while Toby Johnson (Coopers) was eighth and Joseph Oton (Shenfield) placed tenth. Also competing were Jack West & Oscar Shearing (15th & 40th for Coopers), Sean Langan, Nathan Hart and Ike Okwudi (Campion 20th, 21st & 41st) while Zach Higgins was 25th to help Shenfield place third qualify for the National final as Coopers & Campion missed out. The best placed club athletes in the Intermediate Boys event were Oliver Jones (Coopers – 9th), Shane Hart (Campion 19th) and 25th placed Dan Peters (Brentwood).

Winners of relays award with President Claire Brennan (Tony Benton)

Club 2019 Track & Field Awards – Hornchurch 8th November

Havering AC celebrated their successful summer 2019 season on Friday with their Track & Field Awards evening at the Hornchurch Conservative Club.

The winners of the Under 13 – Under 17 Best Performance Award were Jacob Blanc, who won after breaking club records at 60m hurdles, 80m hurdles and 300m and winning medals nationally at 60m hurdles indoors, 80m hurdles and pentathlon, and Alice Brown who won English Schools discus gold and won bronze for England Schools in the Home Countries international. The winners in the Under 20 to Masters categories were javelin thrower Max Law, with another impressive medal winning season who took the male award after four consecutive years as U13-U17 winner, while Claire Brennan lifted the Women’s equivalent for her fifth place in the European Masters 400m hurdles final.

Four best performance winners: Alice Brown, Jacob Blanc, Max Law & Claire Brennan (Pic: Tony Benton)

The Relays award went to the Under 15 boys sprint relay squad of Charlie Black, Jacob Blanc, Jack Botha and Denzel Achi who broke the long-standing club record three times and won the prestigious Club Connect Relay at the Anniversary Games at the Olympic Stadium.

Winners of U20 to Masters club awards (Tony Benton)

Individual age group winners were:

  Age Group Track Field Team member
Masters men James Connor Arron Bonning Martin Chester
Senior women Flic Clarke Ellie Watson Nina Brennan
Senior men Tom Pitkin Shandell Taylor Lewis Bailey
U20 Women Jade Kavanagh Chimdi Okpalauko Charlie Wright
U20 Men Richard Akinyebo Oliver Woods Aaron Freshwater
U17W Sydney Foley Adelaide Thatcher-Gray Alice Atkins
U15M Denzel Achi Oliver Yexley Shane Hart
U15G Stephanie Okoro Hannah Yexley Uche Okpalauko
U13B Al-Ameen Salaam Noah Harriott Daniel Lammas
U13G Cassie Campbell Zikora Ezeonwuka Ruby Tillson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.